YouTube Research Project Proposal Draft

This is a draft research proposal for my YouTube research project about the development of memes.

Title:   The Development of Memes
For my YouTube research project I intend to research into the development of memes, including how memes form, how they spread and gain increased popularity and awareness, and how they develop through and beyond the Internet and YouTube culture and into the mainstream media culture such as television and print.
I will be using both primary and secondary research methods to structure my research project. To undertake my primary research, I will be using the video sharing website YouTube to find and watch video examples of memes. I will be using these videos to examine and make my own notes on the content of the memes and their imitation counterparts (the many remixes and parodies of the original video) to attempt to gain a better understanding of the ‘meme culture’.
For my secondary research I will be using the textbooks ‘YouTube’ (2009) by Jean Burgess and Joshua Green, ‘New Media: An Introduction’ (2008) by Terry Flew, and ‘All Your Chocolate Rain Are Belong To Us: Viral Video, YouTube and the Dynamics of Participatory Culture’ by Jean Burgess, as well as various Internet web sources, to find out more about memes and their development, to help me to structure my own research project, and to help to support my own primary research.

Leave a Reply

